We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What Are the Different Types of Diving Qualifications?

By Lee Johnson
Updated May 23, 2024
Our promise to you
Sports n' Hobbies is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At Sports n' Hobbies, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

The different types of diving qualifications can be separated by the body that awards them, by the level of the qualification, and whether the qualification is for instructors or students. The worldwide and most recognized provider of diving qualifications is the Professional Association of Diving Instructors (PADI), but many others such as the British Sub-Aqua Club (BSAC) and the National Association of Underwater Instructors (NAUI) also offer qualifications equivalent to those provided by PADI. Diving qualifications also have different levels, from beginner to intermediate and advanced, although these levels are named differently by different organizations. Most institutions offer both instructor courses and basic diving courses.

Different organizations around the world offer diving qualifications, differentiated by the body that awards them. PADI, BSAC, and NAUI are three awarding bodies already mentioned, but many others exist. Some other major diving associations include the Sub-Aqua Association (SAA), Scuba Diving International (SDI), and the Confédération Mondiale des Activités Subaquatiques (CMAS). These organizations each offer their own type of diving qualifications. Each course contains different information, so if a diver has qualifications from one body, he or she may need to pass a test before being allowed to dive with another organization.

Although different organizations have different titles for their qualifications, they can generally be split into beginner, intermediate, and advanced. Beginners’ qualifications are generally called “Open Water Diver” qualifications, which generally indicate that the diver knows enough to dive in open water. This title is used by the SAA, PADI, and SDI, among others. Intermediate diving qualifications have different names depending on the specific awarding body, but are often called “Rescue Diver” or “Sports Diver.” Advanced qualifications are ordinarily called something akin to “Dive Master” or “Dive Leader.”

Diving qualifications can also be split into those that are intended to teach a person how to dive and those that are intended to teach a person how to teach other people. Essentially, the two types of diving qualifications looked at in this way would be instructor qualifications and diver qualifications. All instructors have to be advanced divers, but not all advanced divers are capable of instructing. The majority of awarding bodies include the word “Instructor” in the title of all instructing qualifications.

Tables available online can help divers determine the value of their diving qualifications with other institutions. This enables people to have a good idea of what level they would be at with another organization, and therefore makes it easier to dive with different companies. Most equivalent courses have similar names, but some, such as those offered by the CMAS, are unique.

Sports n' Hobbies is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Discussion Comments
Sports n' Hobbies, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

Sports n' Hobbies, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.